Articles
We can use articles before nouns.
1. True or false?
Read and circle true or false for these sentences.
a. The school trip was great. true false
b. He went to a zoo. true false
c. He saw a lion. true false
d. The elephant’s name is Anne. true false
e. He saw the elephant eat dinner. true false
2. Choose the answer!
Read the sentence. Circle the correct answer.
a. I’ve got a red pen and orange pen. The red pen is my favourite. a / an / the
b. We stayed in hotel. The hotel had a swimming pool. a / an / the
c. He saw a lion and a giraffe at the wildlife park. lion was scary. A / An / The
d. This is interesting book. The book is about animals. a / an / the
e. I had a party for my birthday. Lots of my friends came to party. a / an / the
f. Have you got brother or a sister? a / an / the
g. She didn’t have apple for lunch. She had a banana. a / an / the
h. I went on an aeroplane to Brazil. aeroplane was really cool! A / An / The
Yesterday we went on a school trip. The trip was great! We went to a
wildlife park. At the park I saw a lion, an elephant and many other
animals. My favourite was the elephant. Her name is Amira and she’s
from India. We saw her eat lunch!
www.britishcouncil.org/learnenglishkids
© British Council, 2017 The United Kingdom’s international organisation for educational opportunities and cultural relations. We are registered in England as a charity.
3. Make it right!
Find the mistake in each sentence and correct it.
a. We bought a game and a toy, but a game was broken.
We bought a game and a toy, but the game was broken.
b. Did she go to the Australia?
c. He didn’t bring a umbrella.
d. They have the dinner at 6 o’clock every day.
e. We played football with a Tom.
f. In my school there is a gym and the swimming pool.
g. He’s got a old bike.
h. My cat chased a mouse but a mouse ran away!

 

Grammar test – Articles Do the test then write down your score.
1. Choose the correct sentence!
Read the sentences and underline the correct one.
1.
a. I saw a shark and an octopus.
b. I saw an shark and an octopus.
c. I saw a shark and a octopus.
_______
2.
a. She had an pizza for the dinner.
b. She had pizza for dinner.
c. She had the pizza for a dinner.
_______
3.
a. There’s a cat in the garden.
b. There’s cat in the garden.
c. There’s a cat in garden.
_______
4.
a. We saw the film at cinema.
b. We saw film at a cinema.
c. We saw the film at the cinema.
_______
5.
a. Have you finished a homework?
b. Have you finished an homework?
c. Have you finished the homework?
_______
2. Find the mistake!
Find the mistake, underline it and write the correct sentence.
a. A pyramids are in Cairo. _________________________________ _______
b. Can I have an pen please? _______________________________ _______
c. He has the lunch at 1 o’clock. _____________________________ _______
d. It’s raining! I need a umbrella. _____________________________ _______
e. I went to the zoo at an weekend. ___________________________ _

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *